There are several levels of permissions to control access to your projects in Mergin.
# Public and private projects
A private project is a project that only you and those who you choose to share the project with will have access to the files, history and settings. A public project is a project that everyone (including those who are not registered with Mergin) can view the data and project history. They cannot contribute to your public project unless you have shared the project with them with write access (see below for permissions)
# Project permissions
There are three levels of permissions when you share a project with other Mergin users:
- Read: users will be able to view the project data and history
- Write: in addition to the Read access, users can edit data (adding/removing/updating files and features). This is the most appropriate permission level you should assign to those who you want to contribute to your projects
- Owner: in addition to the Write access, users with this level of access can delete the project or transfer it to another user or organisation
# Organisation permissions
Similar to project permissions, you can assign permissions to the members of your organisation. By default, all members will be assigned Read access. You can change their global permissions under members' settings or the project level (see above section).
For members in an organisation, you have 4 levels of permissions:
- Read: users will be able to view the list of project, projects data and history
- Write: in addition to the Read access, users can edit data of projects (adding/removing/updating files and features).
- Admin: in addition to the Write access, users with this level of access can delete the project or transfer it to another user or organisation. Admins can also create new projects, and add/remove organisation members
- Owner: Similar to the Admin permission and in addition access to invoicing and subscription settings.