# How to Share, Transfer or Delete Project

# Share a project

Through cloudmergin.com, you can share your project with other Mergin users. You can add your coworkers manually or send them a link and manage their permissions in your private project. You can also make your project accessible to everyone by making it public.

TIP

You can follow our Working collaboratively tutorial to see detailed instructions on how to share your project.

# Adding users to the project

  1. Choose the project you want to share and go the Settings.
  2. In Invite collaborators section, enter the Mergin Maps usernames of user(s) you want to invite to collaborate and click Add.
  3. Assign them permissions according to their role in Manage Access section. There are three types of permissions:
    • Owner can read, write, delete the whole project and also share it further.
    • Writer can read and write; they can see the project and data and also make edits.
    • Reader can only see the project and data (including project history).

Mergin sharing setting

Another method which is more suitable for sharing with a large number of users is to send them a link (e.g. Mergin Maps Project sarah/Basic survey/tree sarah/Basic survey/tree (opens new window)) to your project.

  1. Go to the project you want to share
  2. Copy the link from your web browser
  3. Share the link with user(s) you want to invite to collaborate

Users can use Request access button to request access to your project after logging into cloudmergin.com.

Mergin sharing setting

Once the user requests access, you (or another project owner) can open the project settings and grant them the appropriate permission:

Mergin sharing setting

# Making your project public/private

Your projects are private by default. If you make it public, everyone can see your data and project history. However, they cannot contribute to your public project unless you grant them the write permission.

  1. Choose the project you want to make public
  2. Go to Settings and click on Make public

If you change your mind, you can similarly make your project private by clicking Make private.

make project public

# Transfer a project

There is an option to transfer the ownership of a project to another user or organisation.

  1. Log in cloudmergin.com and choose the project you want to transfer
  2. Go to Settings and click on Transfer project
  3. Enter the name of a user/organisation and Request transfer
  4. The user/organisation will be notified to accept or reject the transfer request. The request is valid for 6 days. After that period, if user or organisation does not accept the request, you will remain the owner of the project.

transfer project

# Delete a project

If you want to delete a project, you can do so through cloudmergin.com or using the Mergin Maps plugin for QGIS.

# Delete a project through cloudmergin.com

  1. Log in cloudmergin.com and choose the project you want to delete
  2. Go to Settings and click on Delete project

delete project

WARNING

This operation cannot be undone and the project data are permanently deleted.

# Delete a project using the Mergin Maps plugin

Using the Mergin Maps plugin for QGIS, you can delete a Mergin project either locally on your PC or on the Mergin server. To be able to delete the project on the Mergin server, you need to first delete the files locally.

  1. In QGIS, go to the Mergin entry in the Browser panel
  2. Right-click on the project name and select Remove locally. This will remove the project from your PC, but the project will be still available on the Mergin server. You will be able to download the project again.
  3. Right-click on the project name again name and select Remove from server option. This will remove the Mergin project completely.

WARNING

This operation cannot be undone and the project data are permanently deleted.