# How to Add, Edit, Delete Features

TIP

If you are new to Mergin Maps Input, follow our tutorials to get familiar with the app.

Open a project you want to work with in Mergin Maps Input. This can be a project you own or a project that is shared with you, in which case you need to have write permission to add or edit features.

TIP

To be able to transfer your data to your mobile/tablet device, share your project and track changes, you will need to sign up to Mergin Maps.

# Add features

To add a feature, tap the Record button from the bottom panel.

WARNING

A warning will appear when GPS accuracy falls below a threshold. Accuracy thresholds can be changed in Settings.

Surveyed features are added to the active layer, which is shown just above the bottom panel. You can change the active layer by tapping on it and selecting one from the list of editable layers in the project.

# Capture points

The cross hairs you will see on your map will be used as the recorded location. You can change the position of your point by pinching and dragging the background map. If you want to recenter the map to your current position, tap the GPS button.

To capture your point, press Add Point. A form will open where you can fill in the attributes.

Capturing point

# Capture lines or areas

There are two methods of capturing lines and areas:

  • using Add point to capture vertices of your line or area
  • pressing GPS to capture vertices based on your location. You can set how often you want to capture a vertex in Line rec. interval in Settings.

Once you are finished, press Done. If your feature is an area, the shape will be automatically closed by connecting the last and the first vertex.

Capturing lines

# Edit or delete features

Tap on a feature and press the edit button.
Edit button

Now you can change the attributes in the form and modify the shape of the feature using Edit geometry. Adjust the location by panning the map or use GPS in the same manner as when adding new features. Once you are happy with your changes, press Save.

If you want to delete the feature, press the Delete button.

Edit and delete

# Synchronise changes

Don't forget to upload your changes to Mergin Maps!
Select Projects in the bottom panel, open the Home tab and press the sync button to send the updated data to the cloud.

Sync